Frandsen elected president; board members named

April 11, 2017
Kansas Press Association -- Image

M. Olaf Frandsen, editor and publisher of the Salina Journal, was elected president of the Kansas Press Association Board of Directors at the annual KPA business meeting on Saturday.

Frandsen will be joined on the KPA Executive Committee by Andy Taylor, editor of the Montgomery County Chronicle, first vice president; Scott Stanford of the Lawrence Journal-World, second vice president; and Travis Mounts, managing editor of the Cheney-based Times-Sentinel Newspapers, Treasurer.

Sarah Kessinger, Marysville Advocate, will serve one more year on the board as past president. Other board members are: Marcus Ashlock, Syracuse Journal, Southwest District Director; Tommy Felts, Ottawa Herald, Northeast District Director; Mary Hoisington, Great Bend Tribune, Northwest District Director; Jason Jump, Kingman Leader-Courier, Nondaily Membership Director; Dena Sattler, Garden City Telegram, Legislative Director; Nick Schwien, Hays Daily News, Daily Membership Director; Robin Wunderlich, Eureka Herald, Southeast District Director; and Joey Young, Clarion, Central District Director.

Ashlock, Felts, Jump, Schwien and Wunderlich are all new to the board this year.