Spelling Bee Dates & Times

Below are all the confirmed dates, times and locations of upcoming spelling bee events. Click on a county name for more information.

Submit a Spelling Bee Date

Upcoming Spelling Bees

Sunflower State Spelling Bee

March 21, 2020

Newman University, Wichita, KS
De Mattias Fine Arts Center

Registration 8 am
Practice Round 9 am 
Round 1 Competition 12 pm

2/4/2020 at 12:30 pm

Atchison County Community Jr/Sr High School auditorium
908 Tiger Road
Effingham, KS 66023

For More Info:
Contact: Deanna Scherer
Email: scherer.deanna@usd377.org

February 15, 2020 at 10:00 am

Great Bend High School - Auditorium
2027 Morton Street
Great Bend, KS 67530

For More Info:
Contact: Kate Wary
Email: kmw@bauerpikelaw.com

February 5, 2020 at 1:30 p.m.

St. Francis Elementary
307 E. Webster
St. Francis, KS 67756

For More Info:
Contact: Darla Raile
Email: draile@usd297.org

February 6, 2020 at 9:30 am

CCCMS
1630 9th St.
Clay Center, KS 67432

For More Info:
Contact: Sarah Armstrong
Email: SarahArmstrong@usd379.org

February 6, 2020 at 9:00 am

Waverly Gym
607 Pearson Ave
Waverly, KS 66871

For More Info:
Contact: Jessica Gaddis
Email: jgaddis@usd243ks.org

February 12, 2020 at 1:00 -3:30 pm

Herington Middle School
1319 N D Street
Herington, KS 67449

For More Info:
Contact: Amy Coup
Email: acoup@usd487.org

February 6,2020 at 7:00 p.m.

Fort Hays State University, Beach Schmidt Auditorium
600 Park St.
Hays, KS 67601

For More Info:
Contact: Tara Marshall
Email: tsmarshall@fhsu.edu

January 29th, 2020 at 9:30-11:00

Ellsworth Junior-Senior High School: Performing Arts Center
211 W 11th Street
Ellsworth, KS 67439

For More Info:
Contact: Kansas
Email: estoddard@usd327.org

February 19th, 2020 at 2:30 pm

Kepley Auditorium
113 South Colorado
Ulysses, KS 67880

For More Info:
Contact: Kristi Bohl
Email: kbohl@ulysses.org

February 4, 2020 at 1:15-2:30

HS auditorium
400 west Lawrence
Tribune, KS 67879

For More Info:
Contact: Kerry Dixon. kerry sloan
Email: kerryd@tribuneschools.org

February 4, 2020 at 1:15-2:30

HS auditorium
400 west Lawrence
Tribune, KS 67879

For More Info:
Contact: Kerry Dixon. kerry sloan
Email: kerryd@tribuneschools.org

February 4th, 2020 at 1:00-3:00 pm

Madison High School Theater
1500 SW BLVD
Madison, KS 66860

For More Info:
Contact: Stephen Jowers
Email: sjowers@usd386.net

February 13, 2020 at 9:30 a.m.

Satanta Jr-Sr High School
100 Caddo Street
Satanta, KS 67870

For More Info:
Contact: Janis Grover
Email: jgrover@usd507.org

February 22nd, 2020 at 9:00am

Jackson Heights HS/MS
12719 266th Rd
Holton, KS 66436

For More Info:
Contact: Cody Witte
Email: cody.witte@jhcobras.net

February 4, 2020 at 7 PM

Valley Falls Elementary
700 Oak Street
Valley Falls, KS 66088

For More Info:
Contact: Susan Grey
Email: susan.grey@vfalls338.com

January 22nd and 23rd at 5:00-9:00 PM

Hilltop Conference Center
7700 W. 143rd
Overland Park, KS 66223

For More Info:
Contact: Callie Weitzel
Email: caweitzel@bluevalleyk12.org

February 12, 2020 at 10:30

Ross Ellis Center, Barclay College
600 N Main St.
HAVILAND, KS 67059

For More Info:
Contact: Kay Unruh
Email: kunruh@usd474.org

October 9, 2019 at 1:15 pm

Oswego Jr. Sr. High School
1501 Tomahawk Trail
Oswego, KS 67356

For More Info:
Contact: Cynthia Sanders
Email: csanders@usd504.org

January 15th, 2020 at 10:00

Triplains School
5th and Wilson
Winona, KS 67764

For More Info:
Contact: Rebecca Edwards
Email: reedwards@st-tel.net

February 6, 2020 at 9:45 am

Emporia Humanitarian Center
215 W. 6th Ave.
Emporia, KS 66801

For More Info:
Contact: Jennifer Anderson
Email: janderson@usd252.org

February 5th, 2020 at 10:00 am

Centre USD 397 - Lost Springs
2374 310th
Lost Springs, KS 66859

For More Info:
Contact: Karen Nickel
Email: knickel@usd397.com

January 25, 2020 at 9:30---11:30

Marysville Elementary School
1609 Carolina St.
Marysville, KS 66508

For More Info:
Contact: Linda Schomaker
Email: schomakel@usd380.com

January 15,2020 at 9:00 am

Meade Elementary/Junior High School
310 East Grant
Meade, KS 67864

For More Info:
Contact: Tyler Flavin
Email: flavint@usd226.org

January 21, 2020 at 1:30 pm

Beloit Elementary
1201 N Bell St
Beloit, KS 67420

For More Info:
Contact: Janet Porter
Email: jporter@usd273.org

January 31st, 2020 at 10 a.m.

Independence Community College
1057 W. College Blvd.
Independence, KS 67301

For More Info:
Contact: Andy Taylor
Email: chronicle@taylornews.org

January 16, 2020 at 1:00 PM

Chanute
409 S. Malcolm
Chanute, KS 66720

For More Info:
Contact: Mary Durand
Email: mdurand@stpatrickchanute.org

January 29, 2020 at 4:15 pm

Long Island gymnasium
627 Washington Ave
Long Island, KS 67647

For More Info:
Contact: Cindy Mordecai
Email: cmordecai@usd212.com

Wednesday, February 5, 2020 at 9:30 am

Osage City High School Auditorium
420 S. 4th Street
Osage City, KS 66523

For More Info:
Contact: Dena Paul
Email: dpaul@usd420.org

February 12, 2020 at 1:00 PM

Larned Middle School
904 Corse Ave.
Larned, KS 67550

For More Info:
Contact: Julie Strasburg
Email: julie.strasburg@usd495.com

January 30, 2020 at 9:00-11:00 am

Huck Boyd Community Center
860 Park St
Phillipsburg, KS 67661

For More Info:
Contact: Nathan Strasburg
Email: nstrasburg@usd325.com

2-29-20 at 1:30 pm

Rawlins County Elementary School - gymnasium
405 N. 5th
Atwood, KS 67730

For More Info:
Contact: Mica Johnson
Email: mjohnson@usd105.org

January 29, 2020 at 1:00 PM

Republic County Courthouse
M Street
Belleville,, KS 66935

For More Info:
Contact: Rachelle Scott
Email: rscott@usd109.org

January 25, 2020 at 9:00 a.m.

Little River High School
101 Olive Ave.
Windom, KS 67457

For More Info:
Contact: Jon Paden
Email: jpaden@usd444.com

January 25, 2020 at 9:00 a.m.

Little River High School
430 Waverly
Little River, KS 67457

For More Info:
Contact: Jon Paden
Email: jpaden@usd444.com

January 23, 2020 at 1:00

La Crosse Middle and High School Auditorium
400 Washington Street
La Crosse, KS 67548

For More Info:
Contact: Traci Delimont
Email: tdelimont@usd395.org

February 19, 2020 at 10:00 am

Ruppenthal Middle School
400 N. Elm
Russell, KS 67665

For More Info:
Contact: Joan Rourke
Email: jrourke@usd407.org

February 8 at 10am

SE of Saline Theater
5056 E K 4
Gypsum, Ks 67448

For More Info:
Contact: Mike Garretson
Email: mgarretson@usd306.com

January 29, 2020 at 10:00 a.m.

Scott Community High School
712 Main Street
Scott City, KS 67871

For More Info:
Contact: Rod Haxton
Email: editor@screcord.com

February 1, 2020 at 9:00 am registration

Washburn University Union
1700 SE College Ave.
Topeka, KS 66621

For More Info:
Contact: Jenny Prichard
Email: jprichard@cox.net

February 1, 2020 at Registration 9:30 am, Practice round 10:30 am, Bee 1:00 pm

Washburn University Union Room B
1700 SW College Ave
Topeka, KS 66621

For More Info:
Contact: Jenny Prichard
Email: jprichard@cox.net

January 29, 2020 at 9:00 a.m.

Macksville, Kansas
433 N. Gilmore
Macksville, KS 67557

For More Info:
Contact: Joyce Miller
Email: millerjlx2@gmail.com

January 14, 2020 at 1:00 pm

Stanton County HS
200 W Weaver St
Johnson, KS 67855

For More Info:
Contact: DeAnn Gaddis
Email: dgaddis@usd452.org

Feb. 24, 2020 at 9:30 AM

Golden Plains High School
335 School Street
Rexford, KS 67753

For More Info:
Contact: Kathy Baird
Email: kathy.baird@usd314.com

February 11th, 2020 at 1:00-3:00 PM

Mission Valley Elementary
12913 Mission Valley Road
Eskridge, KS 66423

For More Info:
Contact: Amy Johnston
Email: ajohnston@mv330.org

February 4 2020 at 1:30 - 2:30 pm

Wichita County Junior Senior High School
800 W. Broadway
Leoti, KS 67861

For More Info:
Contact: Lori Maxwell
Email: lori.maxwell@leoti.org

February 1, 2020 at 9:30 am -11:30 am

Wyandotte High School
2501 Minnesota Ave
Kansas City , KS 66102

For More Info:
Contact: Tracy Cooper
Email: tracy.cooper@kckps.org