Spelling Bee Dates & Times

Below are all the confirmed dates, times and locations of upcoming spelling bee events. Click on a county name for more information.

Submit a Spelling Bee Date

Upcoming Spelling Bees

Sunflower State Spelling Bee

March 27, 2021

Newman University, Wichita, KS
De Mattias Fine Arts Center

Registration 8 am
Practice Round 9 am 
Round 1 Competition 12 pm

February 5, 2021 at 1 p.m.

Hubbard Welcome Center, Butler Community College
901 S. Haverhill Road
El Dorado, KS 67042

For More Info:
Contact: Trisha Walls
Email: twalls@butlercc.edu

January 13, 2021 at 9:00am

Central Elementary
1045 Oak St.
Burden, KS 67019

For More Info:
Contact: Lindsay Littrell
Email: llittrell@usd462.org

Wednesday, Jan. 27, 2020 at 2:30 p.m.

DCHS auditorium
605 East Commercial
Oberlin, KS 67749

For More Info:
Contact: Brenda Breth
Email: BBRETH@USD294.ORG

February 24th, 2021 at 2:30-3:30pm

Kepley Middle School Auditorium
113 N. Colorado
Ulysses, KS 67880

For More Info:
Contact: Kristi Bohl
Email: kbohl@usd214.org

February 2, 2021 at 9:00am

Copeland Elementary - South Gray Junior High
105 Thatcher
Copeland , KS 67837

For More Info:
Contact: Wendy Koehn
Email: wendy@usd371.org

January 27th, 2020 at 12:45

Rock Hills Jr/Sr High School - Little Theater
710 East Madison
Mankato, KS 66956

For More Info:
Contact: Jennifer Walker
Email: jwalker@usd107.org

January 27, 2021 and January 28, 2021 In person or online TBD at Session 1: 4:30-6:30 PM Session 2: 7:00-9:00 PM (Jan. 27) Championship Session: 5:00 - 7:00 PM (Jan. 28)

Hilltop Learning Center
7700 W 143rd Street
Overland Park , KS 66223

For More Info:
Contact: Christy Rottinghaus
Email: crottinghaus@bluevalleyk12.org

3-3-2021 at 9:30

St. Patrick Catholic School Gymnasium
630 W D. Avenue
Kingman, KS 67068

For More Info:
Contact: Eva Harmon
Email: eharmon@stpatskingman.org

February 10, 2020 at 10:30 AM

Ross - Ellis Center Barclay College Campus
600 N. Main St.
HAVILAND, KS 67059

For More Info:
Contact: Kay Unruh
Email: kunruh@usd474.org

September 23, 2020 at 1:30 - 2:30 pm

Oswego Community Center
203 North St.
Oswego, KS 67356

For More Info:
Contact: Cynthia Sanders
Email: csanders@usd504.org

The exact date has not been decided yet. Will email that info when available. at 9:30---11:30am

Marysville Elementary School
1609 Carolina St.
Marysville, KS 66508

For More Info:
Contact: Linda Schomaker
Email: schomakel@usd380.com

January 19, 2021 at 1:30

Beloit Junior High School
1711 N Walnut
Beloit, ks 67420

For More Info:
Contact: Stephanie Litton
Email: slitton@usd273.org

January 21st. 2021 at 9:00 AM

Prairie Heights Elementary School
801 Center St.
Alta Vista, KS 66834

For More Info:
Contact: Rachel Hodges
Email: rhodges@cgrove417.org

January 27th, 2021 at 1:00 PM

Council Grove Jr. High Auditorium
129 Hockaday St.
Council Grove, KS 66846

For More Info:
Contact: Rachel Hodges
Email: rhodges@cgrove417.org

February 2, 2021 at TBD

OES Lunch Room
231 W. Adams
Osborne, KS 67473

For More Info:
Contact: Mindy L Miller
Email: mmiller@usd392.com

January 20, 2021 at 1pm

SE of Saline High School Auditorium
5056 E K4 Highway
Gypsum, KS 67448

For More Info:
Contact: Mike Garretson
Email: mgarretson@usd306.k12.ks.us

February 2, 2021 at 1:00 pm

Stanton County HS
200 N Long St (PO Box C)
Johnson, KS 67855

For More Info:
Contact: DeAnn Gaddis
Email: dgaddis@usd452.org

Feb 6, 2021 at 9:30

TBD - Wyandotte High School or Virtual Platform
2501 Minnesota Ave
Kansas City , KS 66102

For More Info:
Contact: Tracy Cooper
Email: tracy.cooper@kckps.org