Six newspapers win sweepstakes awards

Posted May 2, 2011

The Kansas Press Association recognized six newspapers at the Saturday Awards of Excellence presentation as sweepstakes winners for their overall performance in the annual news and advertising contest.

The six sweepstakes award winners in the circulation categories were:

• Ottawa Herald, Daily Division 1, up to 5,000 circulation.

• Hays Daily News, Daily Division 2, up to 15,000 circulation.

• Hutchinson News, Daily Division 3, more than 15,000 circulation.

• The Mirror, Tonganoxie, Non-Daily Division 1, up to 1,750 circulation.

• Atchison Globe, Non-Daily Division 2, up to 4,000 circulation.

• Osage County Herald-Chronicle, Non-Daily Division 3, more than 4,000 circulation.

Shown above are (from left) Kendra Harnden of the Osage County Herald-Chronicle; Shawn Linenberger of The Mirror in Tonganoxie; Rebekah Starkey of the Hutchinson News; Tommy Felts of the Ottawa Herald; Patrick Lowry of the Hays Daily News and Joe Warren of the Atchison Globe.