Young takes over as KPA president

Posted April 23, 2020

Following a unique online voting process this past week, new officers and board members have taken over the administrative duties of the Kansas Press Association.

Members elected Joey Young, owner of The Clarion in Andale and Newton Now, to serve as president for the next year.

Other officers elected include Robin Clasen Wunderlich, Eureka Herald, first vice president; Tomari Quinn, Topeka Capital-Journal, second vice president; and David Allen Seaton, Cowley CourierTraveler, treasurer.

New board members are Alicia Paul, Clay Center Dispatch, Northeast District director; and Tim Stauffer, Iola Register, Southeast District director.

Reappointments by Young to one-year terms include Chad Lawhorn, Lawrence Journal-World, daily director; Jason Jump, Kingman Leader-Courier, nondaily director; and Jeff Cott, Derby Informer, legislative director.

Voting was conducted online because of the postponement of the KPA annual meeting due to the coronovirus outbreak.