Deadline for special award nominations is Dec. 1

Posted November 13, 2018

The deadline is Dec. 1 to make nominations for the Kansas Newspaper Hall of Fame, the Clyde M. Reed Jr. Master Editor Award and the Gaston Outstanding Mentor Award.


To qualify for the Hall of Fame, nominees must have served at least 25 years in Kansas as an educator, journalist, newspaper publisher or newspaper executive. The nominee may be actively involved, retired or deceased.


Qualifications for the Reed and Gaston awards include outstanding leadership as an editor over one’s career or developing staff members in a mentorship role.


To initiate the process, send a letter of nomination to KPA Executive Director Emily Bradbury at

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; text-indent: 12.0px; line-height: 15.0px; font: 10.0px 'Times New Roman'}

Judging of the Hall of Fame nominations is done by KPA past presidents. The other awards are judged by the KPA staff.